Essential Fatty Acids Omega3 and Omega6 Fatty Acids

The two essential fatty acids for humans are linoleic and linolenic acid. Because mammalian cells lack the enzymes necessary for their synthesis, these two polyunsaturated fats must be obtained from dietary sources and are therefore termed essential fatty acids (EFAs). Linoleic acid is a member of the omega-6 fatty acid family, whereas linolenic acid is part of the omega-3 fatty acid group. The omega-3 or omega-6 designation (n-3 and n-6 notation is also used) refers to the distance of the first unsaturated bond from the methyl end of the fatty acid.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Weight Loss Resolutions

Weight Loss Resolutions

Are You Tired Of Failed New Year's Weight Loss Resolutions That Leave You Even More Overweight Than Ever Before? Not Anymore Finally Succeed With Your New Years Weight Loss Resolution Once And For All And Get The Body Of Your Dreams.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment